well rounded mommas….

I’d like to direct your attention to one of my favorite blogs today. Over at The Well Rounded Mama she has again brought up something that may or may not affect you, but affects thousands of other women. And you probably have no idea the effect it could have on another woman.

I remember being at my sisters house about a year ago and she was telling me about a friend of hers who had just given birth. My sister had been able to help her get started breastfeeding. As she was telling me this, she made a comment about how it had also been the 1st time she’d seen breasts that looked like hers. She has a dark complexion. She said most of the breasts she’d ever seen were pale and pink, hers are not.  For some reason her comment stuck w/ me. And I remember thinking about the fact that it must have bothered her to some extent, otherwise she wouldn’t have said it.

This morning as The Well Rounded Mama popped up on google reader I wondered what she was going to write about. She is by far one of the most informative bloggers I’ve ever read. And she’s bold enough to write about things others don’t/won’t touch.

Today, her topic is the lack of images of women of size during pregnancy. Let’s be real people, fat women have babies too. ALL THE TIME.  Let’s go a little bit deeper here, I’ve said it b4, every woman is beautiful, mearly b/c she is a woman. You either love and support women, or you don’t. Regardless of their size.

I appreciate what The Well Rounded Mama does w/ her blog. She is real and unafraid. But I especially appreciated this mornings post. For the 1st time ever, I see women who look like me when I was pregnant.

B/c I’m fat, I don’t want to see pics of women who look like me pregnant and giving birth? Nah, let’s not publish anything like that, it might mean that it’s ok for fat people to have babies. We wouldn’t want to encourage that. (b/c thousands of fat women have had perfectly healthy pregnancies, births and babies w/o our help!) And dare we publish something that the media doesn’t find “beautiful”??

~ by doulangel on April 17, 2009.

3 Responses to “well rounded mommas….”

  1. That’s so great that you are so supportive of “rubenesque” women. It was drilled into my head when I was a child that I was defective b/c I was bigger than my classmates. I was constantly on diets and it ruined my metabolism thanks to my smother’s “food nazi” ways. Now I look back on the pics from my youth and yeah, I was bigger, but I wasn’t “fat” bigger. I was never told that I was beautiful as I am. As a result, I loathe myself, I loathe my body.

  2. i am supportive. fat is one of the last prejudice that has yet to be any where near acceptable. we accept all other differences in people, but not fat. yes, we should try to be as healthy as possible, but weight should not exclude anyone from anything.
    i’m sorry your mom was so unsupportive. you are a beautiful woman jojo!!

  3. Thanks Kris! 😀 Well I get so angry when the “fat phobics” start in. And now airlines are going to start forcing heavy people to pay for 2 seats. That’s just soooo wrong.

Leave a Reply

 
