unsure..

The strangest thing happened to me yesterday. I know some of you know that I was adopted as an infant. I have always known this, and my parents have always been supportive of me when I have made an attempt to search for my birth mother.

Every once in awhile something triggers and I get online and look around or sign up on another adopted child forum, that type of thing. I’ve gotten a couple of calls, but nothing to write home about, as they say.

Yesterday I got a call from a woman who was looking for her sibling who had been adopted out. There are a lot of things that point to the fact that it could be me. I looked at her myspace page and was disappointed in the fact that there really wasn’t anything definite in the looks department. There are things that could be, but….

To be honest, it was all very disruptive and confusing. I was up till 1 a.m. My mind reeling….. I finally prayed for peace, and prayed for this family that they would find their piece to the puzzle as well. I answered their questions, asked a couple of my own and am trying to let the cards fall where they may. I have a Christmas party to go to today, hopefully that will be distracting.

What I don’t want is this feeling where I am checking the computer every time I turn around to see if they’ve answered. I’ve never felt an urgency in this area, like I HAVE to find them now. Usually I look for bit, come up against a wall and quit. I’ve heard the best way is to hire a PI. Ya, that’d be nice if I could pay one.

My adoption was closed, the files are sealed. From what I understand, the only way into them is a medical emergency, or if the mother wants it.

~ by doulangel on December 6, 2008.

4 Responses to “unsure..”

  1. I didn’t realize this. I so enjoy learning new things about people!

  2. Wow, that is pretty heavy….your curiosity must be burning; mine sure would. Like you said, you just have to let the cards fall where they may. Do keep us updated though. 🙂

  3. Well, I hope you have the outcome you want, without having to wait too long.

  4. I can relate so well, Kris. My bio-dad has never been a part of my life…he and his wife have at least 4 kids (that I know of) – I’ve been told not to contact them. Every now and then my curiosity takes over and I find myself up all hours searching facebook, myspace, nexopia and the like just to get a little information. The 2nd oldest, from what I can tell on the tiny facebook pic, looks quite a bit like I did at her age.

    I’ll pray for peace for you. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

 
