you know that feeling….

When you’ve found your niche? The last few days I have been in this mode. I have been at the center and at fundraisers, and making brochures, and talking about training lay doulas and writing curriculum, and teaching prenatal classes. It’s crazy!! But I luv every minute of it. For so many years I was happy being a new mom and a stay at home mom and the wife of a college student and the wife of a minister.  I accepted the fact that for that season my ministry was being a new mom, and a ministers wife. I was perfectly happy. I still am. But this path has made my life so much richer.

You know what I realized the other day?? One of the reasons that I have been so stuptified (is that a word??) by this childbirth craze is that my whole life growing up all I ever wanted to be was a child psychologist. I wanted to help other girls who had been abused the way I had. Then the other night it hit me, I am a councelor. That is one thing I do at the nonprofit. And you can believe that when you work w/ women at all, you’re going to come across abuse victims…so crazy how God brought me down this path, gave me the desires of my heart, but in His timing, and in His way…..and I’m so thankful.

~ by doulangel on October 15, 2008.

2 Responses to “you know that feeling….”

  1. Back in the 90’s there was a career-counseling book called “What color is your parachute?” Well, I think you found your parachute.

    BTW, I had NO idea that DH was a minister!

  2. it’s really amazing watching our lives unfold to fulfill the purpose and will of God. i’m preparing to open my own businesses, and the class i’m presently taking has been so overwhelming, but God showed me last week how i’ve been doing a lot of those same managerial skills thru my ministry these past years, so i just have to transition those skills into the secular workforce. it sure makes a difference when God orders our steps ’cause He prepares us in ways we don’t see at the time. preparation always makes opportunity.

Leave a Reply

 
