lessons learned..

I think I am learning more from homeschooling than my kids are. Seriously. I told dh the other night that if they had homeschooling mothers on Are You Smarter than a 5th Grader they’d go broke.

Another thing I’ve learned: seeing the look on your kids face when you’ve explained something to them and they get it is an awesome feeling.

Seeing them use the tool they’ve learned over and over (w/o you having to tell them to), priceless.

hm, and here’s another one for the record: it’s really easy to come up w/ excuses why we can’t do school today….

~ by doulangel on September 10, 2008.

4 Responses to “lessons learned..”

  1. I’m sure they have many excuses why they can’t do school!! lol I’m sure that homeschooling will of course have its ups and downs, and challenges, but overall you’ll find it a rewarding experience. Will they continue w/ homeschooling when they reach middle school or high school age? If so, will you continue to teach them at that level?

  2. yes, hopefully they will go all the way thru w/ us. there are co-ops and college taught classes that they can take as a high schooler if it get’s too hard for us.

  3. lol I wasn’t homeschooled until highschool, but my youngest brothers were homeschooled their whole lives, I tell you I agree, there ARE a lot of excuses 🙂
    I glad you are having fun with it! It doesn’t seem right to send your kid away for so many hours a day to learn from strangers… something just feels yucky about it, but sadly I have no desire at all to homeschool past kindergarten….
    I pray this school year goes great as you learn the ropes 🙂

  4. i’d love to be a part of homeschooling. maybe one day with my grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

 
