road trip!!

Well, I’m off again. This time me and the kids, are going to Columbus, Ohio. We’re visiting my sister in law and niece. I have never driven this far by myself. The farthest I have went alone, meaning without another adult to lead the way, is an hour. I am a little nervous as I was not born with that inner sense of direction that most people have. It is a 6 hour trip according to Hubby’s brother who usually drives that starting at about 3 a.m. I am guessing it will take us a little longer (ya think?) We are leaving around 6 a.m. Saturday morning. I LUV to drive, so I am hoping that it doesn’t take us too much longer, b/c I am the one who says “no we’re not stopping to pee right now!” And keeps driving(!) I know, I know, I’m horrible.

I have packed lots of stuff to keep them busy. We will eat breakfast in the car when ever we get hungry. But I will stop for lunch, hopefully I can find a place like a Mc Donalds with a play place where they can run off some of their pent up energy. We went to MO a couple years ago and they did really well. And they’re older now, so hopefully it will be easier. They each have a bag packed with crayons, pencil, notebook, 2 coloring books, or activity books for the older ones. Then in that bag they are going to put some of their favorite smaller, less noisy toys. I went to the dollar store today by myself and found a few little things I am going to pull out when things get hairy. It will be a surprise for them. And my ever thoughtful friend Jojo sent me a link to this really cool website specifically for moms travelling with kids and I got some great ideas off of there. (thanx:D) I hope they will sleep a bit, but I doubt it, when I wake them they will be bright eyed and bushy tailed(!) I thought about plopping them jammies and all in the car, but the thought of changing them in a strange bathroom is yucky to me. I get a little germ-a-phobic about public places…..

So wish me well! I don’t know if I will blog while I’m there or not, we’ll see:)

Oh! And the reason we are doing this? Because Hubby is going to remodel our bathroon while we’re away. We got ceramic tile, and a pedestal sink (i am freakishly excited about this sink, it is SO cool!) He is supposed to tile the floor and around the tub. But we are thinking he will only get the floor done. Whatever he get’s done I will be happy with b/c it will be 100% better than what it is now. So, please wish him well too:D

~ by doulangel on June 21, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
